University Co-op George H. Mitchell Award

Student Awards for Academic Excellence

Each spring, UT Austin, with the generous support of the University Co-op, recognizes up to five undergraduate students for superior scholarly or creative achievement. Four students receive awards of $5,000 each, and one student receives the top award of $7,000.

The Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost provides a concurrent award of half the value of each student’s award to the academic department in which the scholarly work was supervised. The Co-op Awards Selection Committee consists of university faculty members who choose the recipients.

News: UT Honors Five Undergraduates for Academic Excellence (June 8, 2020) 


Applications Closed


Applicants must be either a junior or senior currently enrolled at UT or have received their undergraduate degree in December 2019. Submitted work should be finished or close to finished (e.g. a complete draft of a thesis or research paper). Previous University Co-op/George H. Mitchell Awards recipients are eligible only if the submitted work is a completely different project. Both the student application with all its supporting materials and the faculty recommendation form must be received by the deadline for the application to be considered.

  1. The student project (paper, thesis, publication, video, artwork, etc.) in a single digital file. If the project is a video, provide a YouTube or Vimeo link in a Word or PDF document briefly describing your project and referencing your link.
  2. A one to two page CV or resume highlighting activities and achievements during your years of study at UT.
  3. The Mitchell Award Student Statement to be completed in Interfolio.
  4. The faculty recommendation form.

Application closed.

Frequently Asked Questions:

May I submit more than one project? 
Students may submit only one project per year of applying for the Co-op / Mitchell award.

May I co-submit a project with another student?
Yes, co-submissions are accepted. Only one student should submit the application on behalf of the team. Only one letter of recommendation should be submitted for the team.

May I submit a project that involves research/activities not completed at UT Austin?
Yes, as long as the work was completed while you were a UT student. A letter of recommendation from a UT Austin faculty member is still required.

May I submit more than one letter of recommendation?
No, only one letter of recommendation should be submitted per application. In the event that more than one faculty member supervised your work, they may co-write a letter of recommendation.

2020 Award Recipients


Ethan Russo

Award: $7,000
Major: Plan II Honors and Mathematics
Category: Humanities
Winning Project: Two Essays in Philosophical Logic

Austin Ali

Award: $5,000
Major: Plan II Honors and Music Composition
Category: Artistic/Creative
Winning Project: A Musical Portrait of Triton, the Rogue Moon of Neptune

Zoe de Beurs

Award: $5,000
Major: Physics and Honors Astronomy
Category: STEM
Winning Project: Classifying X-ray Binaries Using Three Machine Learning Methods

Maike Morrison

Award: $5,000
Major: Honors Mathematics
Category: STEM
Winning Project: Conscientious Vaccination Exemptions in Kindergarten to Eighth-Grade Children

Ishaana Talesara

Award: $5,000
Major: Economics and Mathematics
Category: Social Sciences
Winning Project: Culture and Divorce: An Analysis of Immigrants to the United States

Year Award Name Category
2019 $12,000 Ariel Rebekah Barr STEM
2019 $5,000 Logan Pearce STEM
2019 $5,000 Scott Spivey Social Sciences
2019 $2,500 Aliyah Conley Humanities
2019 $2,500 Griffin Glenn STEM
2018 $12,000 Zahra Ahmed STEM
2018 $5,000 James Ding Social Sciences
2018 $5,000 Oluwaseun Olayiwola Artistic/Creative
2018 $2,500 Ashlie Martinez STEM
2018 $2,500 John Lin STEM
2017 $12,000 Luis Cataldo Humanities
2017 $5,000 Nathan Rebello STEM
2017 $5,000 Benjamin Stevenson Artistic/Creative
2017 $2,500 Gabrielle McRoberts Social Sciences
2017 $2,500 Bronwyn Scott STEM
2016 $10,000 Nell McKeown Humanities
2016 $3,000 Lillian Leone Social Sciences
2016 $3,000 Shelby Walford Sciences or Technology
2016 $3,000 Aydin Zahedivash Sciences or Technology
2016 $2,000 Mohnish Gandhi Social Sciences
2016 $2,000 Jaclyn Kachelmeyer Social Sciences
2016 $2,000 Macey Shay Humanities
2015 $10,000 Victoria Arnold Sciences or Technology
2015 $3,000 Ciaran Dean-Jones Humanities
2015 $3,000 Noor Momin Sciences or Technology
2015 $3,000 Thales Smith Artistic/Creative Project or Performance
2015 $2,000 Kaitlyn Kennedy Humanities
2015 $2,000 Nikita Klimovich Sciences or Technology
2015 $2,000 Nalin Ratnayeke Sciences or Technology
2014 $10,000 Lucy Kerr Humanities
2014 $3,000 Lindsay Mulford Social Sciences
2014 $3,000 Patrick Naeve Humanities
2014 $2,000 Lucy Junker Humanities
2014 $2,000 Casey Nice Humanities
2013 $12,500 Victor Vu Science and Technology
2013 $12,500 Katherine Noble Artistic and Creative
2013 $5,000 Isaac Gomez Artistic and Creative
2013 $5,000 Andrew Wortham Social Sciences
2013 $2,000 Ashty Karim Science and Technology
2013 $2,000 Leon Dean Science and Technology
2013 $2,000 Hannah Waitt Humanities

Application Support

The University of Texas at Austin is using an Interfolio product to collect award applications. Applicants to this position receive a Dossier account and can send all application materials, including confidential letters of recommendation, free of charge.

For help signing up, accessing your account, or submitting your application please check out Interfolio’s help and support section or get in touch via email at or phone at (877) 997-8807.