The Academy of Distinguished Teachers

About the Academy

Established in 1995, the Academy was one of the first organizations of its kind in the country, designed to recognize and honor tenured faculty members who have made significant contributions to improving the quality of the student experience. Members of the Academy advise the president and provost on matters related to the university’s instructional mission; participate in seminars, colloquia, and workshops on teaching effectiveness; and serve as mentors to new faculty.


February 28, 2020

Number of Nominations

If more than one nomination is submitted from a college or school, the dean should rank the nominees.

School of Architecture: 1 College of Liberal Arts: 6
McCombs School of Business: 3 College of Natural Sciences: 6
Moody College of Communication: 2 School of Nursing: 1
College of Education: 2 College of Pharmacy: 1
Cockrell School of Engineering: 3 LBJ School of Public Affairs: 1
College of Fine Arts: 2 School of Social Work: 1
School of Information: 1 Jackson School of Geosciences: 1
School of Law: 1  

Nominee Qualifications

While the deans are not constrained to any formal procedures to identify nominees, they should consult with department chairs and faculty and with student council and/or other representative student groups in their college as part of the process. In addition, consultation with current members of the Academy from the relevant school or college is strongly recommended. If more than one nomination is submitted from a college or school, the dean of that college or school should rank the nominees. While membership in the Academy recognizes teaching excellence and contributions to education, the department chair’s letter should also provide the context of this excellence by noting the nominee’s scholarly and service contributions. For more details about eligibility and selection criteria, see the Selection Guidelines.

Nomination Materials Required

See Teaching Awards Nomination Package.

Award Amount

Following appointment to the Academy of Distinguished Teachers, each faculty member will receive, effective the next academic year, a permanent academic salary increase of $7,500.