2020 Experiential Learning Program Stipends Awarded

To support and develop experiential learning opportunities for undergraduate students at The University of Texas at Austin, 26 faculty members have been awarded grants to develop experiential learning activities and assignments in new or existing classes. As part of the Experiential Learning Initiative (ELI) Faculty Course Developer Program, the faculty members will receive support from ELI program leaders and the Faculty Innovation Center (FIC) to plan, design, and teach an experiential learning component and a two-year stipend of $5,000 per year.

The selected faculty members will also attend workshops and experiential learning course design sessions with ELI program leaders and consultants from the FIC. The faculty members will teach the new or enhanced course within the next two years and will work with ELI on assessing the results.

“We’re excited for our second cohort of this program especially during a time that requires new and unconventional teaching methods,” said Hillary Hart, director of Experiential Learning Initiatives. “I appreciate the support from our ELI ambassadors who assisted with the selection process, and look forward to collaborating with the creative and talented faculty members in our program.”

The 2020 cohort consists of faculty members from the College of Education, College of Fine Arts, College of Natural Sciences, Jackson School of Geosciences, McCombs School of Business, and the Steve Hicks School of Social Work.

Last year’s cohort included faculty members from Cockrell School of Engineering, College of Liberal Arts, Moody College of Communication, School of Architecture, and School of Nursing.
Learn more about the ELI Faculty Course Developer Program

2020-21 ELI Faculty Course Developers

College of Natural Sciences

Angela Beasley

Computer Science

Josh Beckham

TIDES/Freshman Research Initiative

Jessica Ciarla

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Jennifer Fritz

Biology Instructional Office

Luisa Gil Fandino

Textiles and Apparel

Laura Gonzalez

Integrative Biology/ Biology Instructional Office/ TIDES

Chand John

Computer Science

Monica Milonovich

Nutritional Sciences

Dennis Mishler


Felicity Muth

Integrative Biology

Diane Papillion

Nutritional Sciences

Katy Polston

Textiles and Apparel

Gwen Stovall


College of Education

Joan Hughes

Curriculum and Instruction

Shelly Rodriguez

College of Education

McCombs School of Business

Katie Pritchett


Karen Landolt

Business, Government, and Society

John Davis


College of Fine Arts

Charlotte Canning

Theatre and Dance

Yuliya Lanina

Department of Arts and Entertainment Technologies

Laurie Scott


Steve Hicks School of Social Work

Cossy Hough

Steve Hicks School of Social Work

Abena Mackall

Steve Hicks School of Social Work

Jackson School of Geosciences

Ashley Matheny

Department of Geological Sciences

Cornel Olariu

Department of Geological Sciences