COVID-19 Updates
Find regular updates for faculty and students on the following pages.

Faculty Resources · Student Resources
Teaching & Technology Support · Research FAQ

ELI Faculty Course Developer Stipends Awarded

April 22, 2019

To support and develop experiential learning opportunities for undergraduate students at The University of Texas at Austin, 26 stipends have been awarded to 28 faculty members to develop experiential learning activities and assignments in new or existing classes. As part of the Experiential Learning Initiative (ELI) Faculty Course Developer Program, the faculty members will receive a two-year stipend of $5,000 per year as well as support from ELI program leaders and the Faculty Innovation Center (FIC) to plan, design, and teach an experiential learning component. Two of the stipends have been awarded to teams consisting of two co-instructors who will split the stipend. 

The selected faculty members will also attend workshops and experiential learning course design sessions with ELI program leaders and consultants from the FIC. The faculty members will teach the new or enhanced course within the next two years and will work with ELI on assessing the results.

"More than 70 outstanding applications were received for this inaugural cohort," said Hillary Hart, director of Experiential Learning Initiatives. "The passion for teaching among UT Austin's faculty members is incredible, and I sincerely appreciate the work from our ELI ambassadors who assisted with the selection process."

This year's recipients represent the five colleges and schools that were eligible for the stipends in 2019. The 2020 cohort will consist of faculty members from the College of Education, College of Fine Arts, College of Natural Sciences, Jackson School of Geosciences, McCombs School of Business, and the Steve Hicks School of Social Work. The call for applications for the 2020 chort will be announced in the fall. 

Learn more about the ELI Faculty Course Developer Program

2019-21 ELI Faculty Course Developers

Cockrell School of Engineering

Ilyas Iyoob

Department of Mechanical Engineering

Atila Novoselac

Department of Civil, Architectural, and Environmental Engineering

Edison Thomaz

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Randi Voss

Department of Mechanical Engineering

College of Liberal Arts

Marina Alexandrova

Department of Slavic and Eurasian Studies

Casey Boyle

Department of Rhetoric and Writing

Barbara Bullock

Department of French and Italian

Craig Campbell

Department of Anthropology

María Luisa Echavarría

Department of Spanish and Portuguese (co-instructor with Jocelly Meiners)

Oliver Freiberger

Department of Religious Studies

John Hartigan

Department of Anthropology

Elon Lang

Liberal Arts Honors, Humanities Program

Jocelly Meiners

Department of Spanish and Portuguese (co-instructor with María Luisa Echavarría)

Abena Osseo-asare

Department of History

Molly Polk

Department of Geography and the Environment (co-instructor with Jayme Walenta)

Suzanne Seriff

Department of Anthropology; Schusterman Center for Jewish Studies

Katharine Tillman

Department of Psychology

Jayme Walenta

Department of Geography and the Environment (co-instructor with Molly Polk)

Moody College of Communication

Erica Ciszek

Stan Richards School of Advertising and Public Relations

Natalie Devlin

Stan Richards School of Advertising and Public Relations

Caroline Frick

Department of Radio-Television-Film

Scott Rice

Department of Radio-Television-Film

Amy Kristin Sanders

School of Journalism

Jeffrey Treem

Department of Communication Studies

School of Architecture

School of Nursing