Inaugural Cohort Announced for Provost’s Distinguished Service Academy

Five UT Austin faculty members have been selected for the inaugural cohort of the Provost’s Distinguished Service Academy (DSA) for their excellence in service and mentorship. Inspired by the Academy of Distinguished Teachers, the goal of the Provost’s Distinguished Service Academy is to recognize service, which is at the core of this appointment.  Members will host at least one workshop per semester and a series of faculty mentoring sessions throughout the year. One objective is to provide an opportunity for fellow faculty, staff, and students to learn how to develop and balance contributions across research, teaching, and service.

Carolyn Brown, College of Pharmacy

Jen Moon, Department of Biology, Natural Sciences

Lisa Moore, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts

Rich Reddick, Department of Educational Leadership & Policy, Education

Loriene Roy, School of Information

“These faculty members embody excellence in scholarship while managing to balance impressive service to the community at UT and beyond,” expressed Tasha Beretvas, senior vice provost for faculty affairs. “We want to both recognize their achievements and provide an opportunity for them to give back in the form of mentorship to others.”

Each nominee was selected by a committee of peers. In collaboration with the members of the selection committee, this inaugural cohort will shape how the program best serves the campus community, and new members will be appointed each year.

“They are more than role models. They are active participants in fostering a campus environment where service is valued and rewarded. We developed this program with that distinction in mind,” added Lynn Katz, co-chair of the Gender Equity Council who helped conceptualize the Provost’s Distinguished Service Academy.