Provost’s Distinguished Service Academy

The Provost’s Distinguished Service Academy will represent a formal organization of distinguished tenured and senior non-tenure track (NTT) faculty members with extraordinary achievements across their portfolios and in particular in terms of their excellence in mentoring and service to their college, the university, the state of Texas and the nation.

On this page you will find information regarding eligibility, the nomination process, application requirements, appointments, participation, and the review committee.

News: Inaugural Cohort Announced for Provost’s Distinguished Service Academy (Feb. 11, 2020)


The goals of the Distinguished Service Academy are as follows:

  • Recognize and reward outstanding faculty members for extraordinary service and mentoring to students, their department, their school/college, the university, and broader communities.
  • Foster and promote leadership training for UT faculty colleagues that focuses on service, diversity, inclusion and mentoring-related topics.
  • Provide opportunities for other faculty, staff and students to learn how to develop balanced portfolios that integrate excellence in scholarship, teaching and service to promote a research-teaching-service nexus.


Nominees must have excelled in their entire portfolio of professional contributions as a faculty member (i.e., in scholarship, teaching and service for tenured faculty, and in service and relevant second area of specialization for non-tenure-track faculty) while demonstrating an extraordinary commitment to service and mentoring. Tenure-track assistant professors are not eligible. NTT faculty are not eligible before their first promotion. In terms of timing of nomination, the following eligibility rules apply:

  • Tenured faculty must have worked full-time at UT for at least three years in a rank higher than the tenure-track assistant professor rank (i.e., three years after serving in rank as a tenured associate professor or tenured full professor).
  • Non-tenure-track (NTT) faculty must have worked at UT for at least three years in a rank higher than the first NTT rank (e.g. three years after serving at the rank of Senior Lecturer, Associate professor of instruction / practice / research / clinical, or higher).
  • The term of membership in the Distinguished Service Academy will be for a period of five years.  A faculty member may be elected for a second term (i.e., a maximum of two five-year terms). Beyond that period, the Distinguished Service Academy member may remain a fellow through participation in the Distinguished Service Academy activities although they will no longer receive a stipend.

Nomination Process

Nominations will be accepted annually and must be received by the application deadline (see below). Self-nominations are encouraged.  In addition, any member of the university community may nominate an individual who satisfies the eligibility requirements, although the nomination deadline for nominating a candidate will be earlier to allow time for the nominee to prepare their nomination package.

Nominations are closed for 2019-20

Application contents

A single PDF containing the following application materials should be submitted here:

  • A three-page personal statement from the candidate that
    • highlights the candidate’s extraordinary commitment to service and mentoring as demonstrated by their leadership and accomplishments,
    • demonstrates excellence across the candidate’s portfolio of other work including (research, and teaching for tenured faculty; other specialization area for NTT faculty),
    • provides the candidate’s service and mentoring philosophy, including
    • service and mentoring contributions to the candidate’s students, department, college / school, University, and beyond,
    • service and mentorship in support of inclusion and diversity within the department, school, University, and beyond, and
    • shares the candidate’s ideas for how they will contribute to the goals of the Distinguished Service Academy.
  • A curriculum vitae
  • Two letters of support written by any of the following: faculty colleagues (no more than one colleague external to UT), department chair, dean, university administrator or student (no more than one student letter). Each letter should not be longer than three pages.


Appointments will be for a period of five years (renewable one time for an additional five years). The appointment will include a $5,000 annual stipend during the five-year appointment. The stipend will not be considered as part of the faculty member’s annual salary compensation.


Members of the Distinguished Service Academy will sponsor at least one workshop per semester and offer a series of one-on-one mentoring sessions throughout the year. Faculty with membership in the Distinguished Service Academy are expected to participate in these activities. Each faculty member must submit an annual report summarizing their Academy activities for the year.

Review Committee

The review committee includes the following faculty members:

  • Lynn Katz, Cockrell School of Engineering, chair
  • Beth Bukoski, College of Education
  • Courtney Byrd, Moody College of Communication
  • Sharon Horner, School of Nursing
  • Alberto Martinez, College of Liberal Arts
  • Shelley Payne, College of Natural Sciences
  • Eric Tang, College of Liberal Arts
  • Sean Theriault, College of Liberal Arts
  • Amie Jean, Undergraduate student
  • Lewis Stetson Rowles, Graduate student
  • Tasha Beretvas, senior vice provost for faculty affairs, ex officio non-voting
  • Edmund T. Gordon, vice provost for diversity, ex officio non-voting
Nominations / Applications Closed

Check back in Fall 2020 for more information on the nomination process.