UT Co-Op George H. Mitchell Award

Student Awards for Academic Excellence

In Spring 2023 the University of Texas at Austin, with the generous support of the University Co-op, will recognize up to five undergraduate students for superior scholarly or creative achievement. Four recipients will receive awards of $5,000 each and one will receive the top prize of $7,000. 

The Mitchell Awards Selection Committee consists of university faculty members who choose the recipients.


March 21, 2023


Applicants must be either a junior or senior currently enrolled at UT or have received their undergraduate degree in December 2022. Submitted work should be finished or close to finished (e.g. a complete draft of a thesis or research paper). Previous Mitchell Awards recipients are eligible only if the submitted work is a completely different project. Both the student application with all its supporting materials and the faculty recommendation form must be received by the deadline for the application to be considered.

The following materials must be uploaded via Interfolio:

  1. The student project (paper, thesis, publication, video, artwork, etc.) in a single digital file. If the project is a video, provide a YouTube or Vimeo link in a Word or PDF document briefly describing your project and referencing your link.
  2. Mitchell Video Prompt (90 second video introducing yourself and your project)
  3. A one to two page CV or resume highlighting activities and achievements during your years of study at UT.
  4. A scanned copy of your academic summary available through the Texas One Stop at no cost.
  5. The UT Co-op George H. Mitchell Student Statement is to be completed in Interfolio.
  6. The faculty recommendation form. Please do not request a recommendation letter via Interfolio.
  7. The Official UT Austin Applicant Screening Questions and UT Austin Applicant Source forms will be completed in Interfolio. Although these forms are primarily used for university-wide faculty recruitment, they must be completed to finalize your application.

All of the above materials must be uploaded and your application submitted no later than March 21, 2023 11:59 p.m. CST. 

Frequently Asked Questions:

May I submit more than one project? 

Students may submit only one project per year of applying for the Co-op/Mitchell award.

May I co-submit a project with another student?

Yes, co-submissions are accepted. Only one student should submit the application on behalf of the team. Only one letter of recommendation should be submitted for the team. 

May I submit a project that involves research/activities not completed at UT?

Yes, as long as the work was completed while you were a UT student. A letter of recommendation from a UT faculty member is still required.

May I submit more than one letter of recommendation?

No, only one letter of recommendation should be submitted per application. In the event that more than one faculty member supervised your work, they may co-write a letter of recommendation.

2022 Award Recipients

Aniket Sanghi

Award: $7,000
Major: Astronomy and Physics
Category: Grand Prize, STEM
Winning Project: Efficiently Imaging Accreting Protoplanets from Space: Reference Star Differential Imaging of the PDS 70 Planetary System Using the HST/WFC3 Archival PSF Library

Alexandria Passanisi

Award: $7,000
Major: Theatre & Dance and Radio-Television-Film
Category: Grand Prize, Artistic/Creative
Winning Project: The Missing Elements of Theatrical Representation of Autism Spectrum Disorder

Vivek Ramanathan

Award: $5,000
Major: Computer Science and Mathematics
Category: STEM
Winning Project: A Simulator for Low-Energy, High-Speed RSFQ Circuits

John Prado

Award: $5,000
Major: Classical Languages and Linguistics
Category: Humanities
Winning Project: Metri Causa: Rhythmic Well-Formedness in Latin Elegy

Amelia Mercado

Award: $5,000
Major: Biology, Honors
Category: Social Sciences
Winning Project: Mental Health Diagnoses in Hospitalized Adults with Congenital Heart Disease in the State of Texas: A 10-year Review

Alex Cao and Caleb Zhang

Award: $5,000
Major: Finance and Textiles & Apparel
Plan II, Business Honors and Marketing
Category: Artistic/Creative
Winning Project: Corporate Cannibal

2022 George H. Mitchell Award – Special Recognition

Matthew Santoso

Award: $1,625
Major: Chemical Engineering
Category: STEM
Project: Rapid Macrovoid Characterization in Membranes Prepared via Nonsolvent-induced Phase Separation: A Comparison Between 2D and 3D techniques

Megan Snopik

Award: $1,625
Major: English, Departmental Honors
Category: Humanities
Project: On Reading Woolf, On Reading Illness: Situating Disability in Modernism

Jackie Yang

Award: $1,625
Major: Psychology
Category: Social Sciences
Project: Minority Stress Digital Dating Abuse Among Gay and Bisexual Men

Macaella Gray and Zoe Roden

Award: $1,625
Major: Art History
Humanities and Art History
Category: Artistic/Creative
Project: Connective Tissues: Printed & Published

2022 George H. Mitchell Semi-Finalists

Allison Uebele, STEM
Morgan Jeitler, Humanities
Rane Prak, Humanities
Candice Ma, Social Sciences
Tien Nguyen, Social Sciences
Lily Dayanim, Artistic/Creative



Year Award Name Category
2021 $3,000

Jeremian Abdullah

2021 $3,000

Leonardo Di Bonaventura Altuve

Social Sciences
2021 $3,000

Joseph Guidry

2021 $3,000

Mark Simmons

2020 $3,500 Ethan Russo Humanities
2020 $2,500 Austin Ali Artistic/Creative
2020 $2,500 Zoe de Beurs STEM
2020 $2,500 Maike Morrison STEM
2020 $2,500 Ishaana Talesara Social Sciences
2019 $12,000 Ariel Rebekah Barr STEM
2019 $5,000 Logan Pearce STEM
2019 $5,000 Scott Spivey Social Sciences
2019 $2,500 Aliyah Conley Humanities
2019 $2,500 Griffin Glenn STEM
2018 $12,000 Zahra Ahmed STEM
2018 $5,000 James Ding Social Sciences
2018 $5,000 Oluwaseun Olayiwola Artistic/Creative
2018 $2,500 Ashlie Martinez STEM
2018 $2,500 John Lin STEM
2017 $12,000 Luis Cataldo Humanities
2017 $5,000 Nathan Rebello STEM
2017 $5,000 Benjamin Stevenson Artistic/Creative
2017 $2,500 Gabrielle McRoberts Social Sciences
2017 $2,500 Bronwyn Scott STEM
2016 $10,000 Nell McKeown Humanities
2016 $3,000 Lillian Leone Social Sciences
2016 $3,000 Shelby Walford Sciences or Technology
2016 $3,000 Aydin Zahedivash Sciences or Technology
2016 $2,000 Mohnish Gandhi Social Sciences
2016 $2,000 Jaclyn Kachelmeyer Social Sciences
2016 $2,000 Macey Shay Humanities
2015 $10,000 Victoria Arnold Sciences or Technology
2015 $3,000 Ciaran Dean-Jones Humanities
2015 $3,000 Noor Momin Sciences or Technology
2015 $3,000 Thales Smith Artistic/Creative Project or Performance
2015 $2,000 Kaitlyn Kennedy Humanities
2015 $2,000 Nikita Klimovich Sciences or Technology
2015 $2,000 Nalin Ratnayeke Sciences or Technology
2014 $10,000 Lucy Kerr Humanities
2014 $3,000 Lindsay Mulford Social Sciences
2014 $3,000 Patrick Naeve Humanities
2014 $2,000 Lucy Junker Humanities
2014 $2,000 Casey Nice Humanities
2013 $12,500 Victor Vu Science and Technology
2013 $12,500 Katherine Noble Artistic and Creative
2013 $5,000 Isaac Gomez Artistic and Creative
2013 $5,000 Andrew Wortham Social Sciences
2013 $2,000 Ashty Karim Science and Technology
2013 $2,000 Leon Dean Science and Technology
2013 $2,000 Hannah Waitt Humanities

Application Support

The University of Texas at Austin is using an Interfolio product to collect award applications. Applicants to this position receive a Dossier account and can send all application materials, including confidential letters of recommendation, free of charge.

For help signing up, accessing your account, or submitting your application please check out Interfolio’s help and support section or get in touch via email at help@interfolio.com or phone at (877) 997-8807.