Jean Holloway Award for Excellence in Teaching

About the Award

The Jean Holloway Award for Excellence in Teaching was created in 1970 with an endowment from past Texas Exes president Sterling Holloway and his wife, Jean. It has been supplemented over the years by gifts from Jean’s daughter and her grandchildren. Now the award is presented annually to a teacher in the College of Liberal Arts or Natural Sciences.


November 2020

Number of Nominations

Nominations open exclusively to the student body

Nominee Qualifications

This award symbolizes UT Austin’s commitment to teaching excellence and provides the means to recognize and reward an outstanding tenured or tenure-track teacher from the Colleges of Liberal Arts or Natural Sciences. The person selected should demonstrate warmth of spirit, a concern for society and for the individual, and the ability to impart knowledge while challenging his or her students to independent inquiry and creative thought, as well as a respect for the understanding of the permanent values of our culture.

Nomination Materials Required

Forms and nomination instructions available here

Award Amount

A cash honorarium of $4,500* is awarded.

*Amount of honorarium varies depending on endowment income

Past Recipients

List of previous recipients.

View here

UTA 6.440, Mailcode D7600

Mailing Address

Executive Vice President and Provost

Institutional Accreditation
1616 Guadalupe St., D7600
Austin, Texas 78701