Presidential Scholars Honored By President Fenves at Spring Reception

President Fenves honored the 2016 Essay Award winners, and stayed around to meet the attending Presidential Scholars.

President Fenves announced the winners of the Presidential Scholars Essay Competition, and visited with students at the spring reception on April 28, 2016 at the San Jacinto Multipurpose Room. Students in Presidential Scholars submitted over 90 essays explaining what the program means to them and how the scholarship has helped them pursue their goals at UT Austin.

The 2016 Essay Winnners:

  • 1st place/$500 - Liliana Terry, a Radio, Television and Film major from Spring, Texas
  • 2nd place/$250 - Carolina Herrera, an English major from Laredo, Texas
  • 3rd place/$150 - Samuel Quach, an Economics major from Sugar Land, Texas

“This is a very impressive group of students with outstanding accomplishments, and we are very happy to have them at The University of Texas,” said Fenves.

Fenves emphasized the immeasurable value of experiential learning as an undergraduate student. All Presidential Scholars who started at UT Austin after 2013 receive a one-time scholarship to take part in some kind of experiential learning, whether that be an internship, research, study abroad or attending a professional conference.

Essay winner

The event started with attendees writing postcards to the incoming Class of 2020, opportunities to speak with campus representatives about experiential learning opportunities, and a photo booth - the crowd favorite.

David Laude, senior vice provost of enrollment and curriculum services, kicked off the event with opening remarks about the importance of Presidential Scholars at UT, and introduced President Fenves.

After the president announced the essay winners, he stayed to meet and take pictures with this special group of scholars.

Learn more about Presidential Scholars here.