OpEd Project Public Voices Fellowship

News: Faculty Members Receive Prestigious Public Voices Fellowship (February 19, 2020) 

Applications are now closed and members of this cohort have been notified.

The Board of The OpEd Project Public Voices Fellowship at UT Austin invites nominations for the sixth cohort of Public Voices Fellows.

The Ford Public Voices Fellowship is part of a national initiative launched by The OpEd Project in partnership with leading universities and foundations, to accelerate the ideas and public impact of underrepresented thought leaders, including women, ensuring that their ideas shape the important conversations of our age. The Public Voices Fellowship at UT Austin is part of this prestigious national initiative to change who writes history.

The Op-Ed Project’s “Public Voices Thought Leadership Program” is a year-long fellowship for underrepresented women and “diverse thought leaders.” The aim of the “Public Voices Program” is to “increase the range of voices and quality of ideas we hear in the world.” The goal at UT Austin has been to increase the number of women faculty and faculty of color sharing their work with the public through radio, television, and print media publications and appearances.

UT Austin remains one of the only public institutions to participate in this program. This will be the sixth cohort of the Public Voices Fellowship at UT Austin. To date, 99 UT Austin Fellows have produced over 420 concrete successes, including published op-eds, TV and radio appearances, interviews, expert quotes and more. Many of these successes have led to expansive impact in the academic and public sphere, driving expert citations, demand for book contracts and sparking moving community initiatives. For a more descriptive overview of the program please visit their website at www.theopedproject.org.


Those selected as fellows must commit to participating in four convening sessions on the following dates:

1st session: February 27-28, 2020
2nd session: May 12, 2020
3rd session: August 24, 2020
4th session: October 30, 2020