New Honor Code

Updated 2023


I pledge, as a member of the University of Texas community, to do my work honestly, respectfully, and through the intentional pursuit of learning and scholarship.


  • I pledge to be honest about what I create and to acknowledge what I use that belongs to others.
  • I pledge to value the process of learning in addition to the outcome, while celebrating and learning from mistakes.
  • This code encompasses all of the academic and scholarly endeavors of the university community.

The University of Texas at Austin strives to create a dynamic and engaging community of teaching and learning where students feel intellectually challenged; build knowledge and skills; and develop critical thinking, creativity and intellectual curiosity. As a member of this community, it is important for all students to engage in assignments, exams and other coursework with openness, integrity and a willingness to make mistakes and learn from them.

Background and Context

During the COVID-19 pandemic, challenges with various online teaching, learning and proctoring software platforms led to the creation of an Academic Integrity Committee aimed at strengthening the culture of academic integrity across the University. One result of this effort was an initiative, supported by President Hartzell and Provost Wood, to introduce a new, updated University Honor Code. A committee of faculty, staff and students was convened to draft a brief honor code affirmation before engaging faculty and student governance organizations to finalize the language and determine next steps. This new Honor Code is the result of those efforts.

Find Resources Here

Committee Members
Art Markman Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
Molly Hatcher Assistant Vice Provost and Director of the Center for Teaching and Learning
Anne Braseby Senior Faculty Development Specialist
Karen French Associate Director Office of Instructional Innovation
Kristie Loescher Assistant Dean for Instructional Innovation
Elizabeth Richmond-Garza Associate Professor, Department of English
David Yeager Associate Professor, Department of Psychology
Bob Duke Professor, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music
Shelley Payne Director, LaMontagne Center for Infectious Disease
Brent Iverson Professor, Department of Chemistry
Meme Drumwright Professor, Stan Richards School of Advertising and Public Relations
Brad Love Associate Professor, Stan Richards School of Advertising and Public Relations
Erika Bsumek Associate Professor, Department of History