Warning: WP Redis: Connection timed out in /code/wp-content/plugins/wp-redis/object-cache.php on line 1483 Five Faculty Members Inducted into UT Austin's Academy of Distinguished Teachers - Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost

Five Faculty Members Inducted into UT Austin’s Academy of Distinguished Teachers

Honoring excellence in teaching at the undergraduate level, The University of Texas at Austin announced the 2023 inductees into its prestigious Academy of Distinguished Teachers.

Nominated by their respective colleges and selected through a rigorous evaluation process, these new inductees will receive a $25,000 stipend, will hold the title Distinguished Teaching Professor, and will serve as members of the Academy for the duration of their tenure at UT Austin.

The 2023 inductees are:

  • Anthony Brown, Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, African and African Diaspora Studies, and Center for African and African American Studies, College of Liberal Arts
  • Ruth Buskirk, Professor of Instruction, Department of Molecular Biosciences, College of Natural Sciences
  • Ashley Farmer, Associate Professor, Department of African and African Diaspora Studies & Department of History, College of Liberal Arts
  • Michael Marder, Professor of Physics, Executive Director, UTeach
  • Domino Perez, Professor, Department of English and the Center for Mexican American Studies

The Academy of Distinguished Teachers is emblematic of the University’s commitment to excellence in teaching, and its members provide leadership to improve the quality and depth of the undergraduate experience. “Through their longstanding commitment to the teaching, these newly elected members represent the very best of our University’s efforts to ensure that our students are provided with the world’s best education,” said Art Markman, Vice Provost for Academic Affairs. “I am grateful for their devotion to our students, our faculty community, and our University.”

For more information about the award, readers can visit: the academy website.