Seven Faculty Named Recipients of the President’s Associates Teaching Excellence Award

AUSTIN, Texas — Seven University of Texas at Austin faculty members are being highlighted for their work and have been named recipients of the annual President’s Associates Teaching Excellence Award for the 2020-2021 academic year. The award recognizes the university’s educational innovators who demonstrate exceptional undergraduate teaching in the core curriculum, including signature courses, and engage with curriculum reform and educational innovation.

“The President’s Associates Teaching Excellence Awards is one of the ways we celebrate the amazing educators we have on campus,” said UT president Jay Hartzell. “My congratulations to each of the seven award winners. Great teachers do more than disseminate knowledge – world-class faculty inspire students to hone their talents and find their passions so they can lead fulfilling lives and change the world.”

The awards are made possible by contributions from the President’s Associates — friends of the university who are committed to advancing education and research at UT Austin. Each recipient will receive a monetary award of $5,000.

Recipients of the 2020-2021 President’s Associates Teaching Excellence Award

Laura Lashinger, associate professor, Nutritional Sciences

Sally Ragsdale, associate professor of instruction, Statistics and Data Sciences

Jennifer Graber,professor, Religious Studies

Sarah Brayne, assistant professor, Sociology

Kathryn Klinger Tackett, associate professor of practice, Special Education

Paul Bonin-Rodriguez, associate professor, Theatre and Dance

Adam Rabinowitz, associate professor, Classics