New — Early Career Fellowship Program

Several units have been selected for participation in the inaugural cohort of the UT Austin Provost’s Early Career Fellows program designed to further the university’s commitment to building a diverse and vibrant interdisciplinary community of scholars.

The purpose of this training program is to allow early career researchers, postdoctoral fellows and graduating PhD students to develop and pursue research and teaching topics upon which a future academic career can be built. The program will enable Fellows to build a network of emerging scholars and benefit from the mentorship of top faculty in their field.

Provost’s Early Career Fellow will join a diverse and energetic community of other incoming fellows training in different departments across the university and will receive a competitive stipend, fringe benefits, relocation funds, travel funds, and discretionary funds.

Participating Departments

 

College of Education

Research and training program on education and health disparities in Latino/a populations.
Available positions: 6
Apply: https://apply.interfolio.com/81898
For more information on how to apply, contact John Bartholomew (jbart@austin.utexas.edu) and Dean Martinez (charlesm@austin.utexas.edu).

College of Natural Sciences

Department of Astronomy – Research, scholarship, and training in frontier fields of astrophysics and cosmology, with a focus on bridging sub-disciplines, and on effective teaching, mentoring and outreach.
Available positions: 2
For more information on how to apply, contact Kelly Quinney (kquinney@astro.as.utexas.edu), and James Medina (james.medina@austin.utexas.edu).

Department of Integrative Biology – Research, scholarship, and training program in evolution, ecology, behavior, genomics, and/or computational biology, focused specifically on candidates whose research supports diverse and underserved communities and/or who have a strong record of improving the diversity of their academic communities
Available positions: 2
Apply: http://apply.interfolio.com/81687
For questions, contact Shalene Jha (sjha@austin.utexas.edu) or Felicity Muth (Felicity.Muth@austin.utexas.edu)

Department of Neuroscience – Cross-disciplinary mentored research training in neuroscience with an emphasis on building a diverse community of scientists.
Available positions: 2
Apply: http://apply.interfolio.com/81711
For questions, contact Dr. Michael Drew (mdrew@utexas.edu).

Cockrell School of Engineering

Department of Biomedical Engineering  – Research and training program on health disparities.
Available positions: 2
Apply: http://apply.interfolio.com/79321
For questions, contact Elizabeth Cosgriff-Hernandez (cosgriff.hernandez@utexas.edu).

College of Liberal Arts

Department of English  – Scholarship, creative work, and training program within the Creative Writing community, under the banner of “Race, Ethnicity, and Expressive Culture.” Fellowship will include a range of candidates with MFA and/or PhD credentials.
Available positions: 2
Apply: http://apply.interfolio.com/80964
For questions, contact Martin Kevorkian (mkevorkian@utexas.edu).

Department of Geography – Research, scholarship, and training on urban sustainability, spatial dimensions of health and environmental justice and are open and flexible to scholars whose work bridges these areas.
Available positions: 2
Apply to Position #1: https://faculty.utexas.edu/career/66918
Apply to Position #2: https://faculty.utexas.edu/career/66878
For questions, contact Rebecca Torres (rebecca.torres@austin.utexas.edu).

Department of Government – Research, scholarship, and training program on racial and ethnic politics in any of their major fields of study.
Available positions: 2
Apply: https://apply.interfolio.com/81253
For more information on how to apply, contact Dan Brinks (danbrinks@austin.utexas.edu).

Moody College of Communication

Department of Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences  – Research, scholarship, and training program on pediatrics disorders within URM populations.
Available positions: 2
Apply: https://faculty.utexas.edu/career/66276.
For questions, contact Raj Koul (Rajinder.Koul@austin.utexas.edu).

School of Nursing

Research and training program on areas spanning health equity research, healthy aging, mental health, informatics, and self-management of chronic diseases.
Available positions: 2
Details on how to apply here.
For questions, contact John Lowe (john.lowe@austin.utexas.edu) and Miyong Kim (mkim@nursing.utexas.edu)

 

Questions

If you have more questions about this program, please contact Dr. Edmund T. Gordon (etgordon@austin.utexas.edu), Vice Provost for Diversity, or Dr. Lydia Contreras (lcontrer@che.utexas.edu), Provost’s Faculty Leadership Fellow.

date
Type
News
Tags