UT Student Awarded Prestigious Astronaut Scholarship (2020)

Teddy Hsieh, a rising junior at The University of Texas at Austin pursuing degrees in chemistry and electrical engineering, has been named to the 2020 Astronaut Scholar Class by the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation (ASF).

A national award given to a select group of outstanding undergraduate students studying in the fields of science, technology, engineering, or mathematics (STEM), the Astronaut Scholarship recognizes STEM majors with exemplary academic performance, ingenuity, and a unique aptitude for research.

As an Astronaut Scholar, Teddy will receive:

  • A scholarship up to $15,000
  • The opportunity to represent UT at ASF’s Scholar Technical Conference
  • Mentoring by a scholar alumni, C-suite executive, or astronaut
  • Membership in the Astronaut Scholar Honor Society

“I am honored and humbled to receive this award,” Teddy said. “I know this honor could not have been possible without the dedication, guidance, and opportunities provided by UT staff and faculty. The mentorship I received here at UT exceeded all my expectations and empowered me to reach my goals.”

Astronaut Scholarships are awarded to students in their junior or senior year of college who intend to pursue research or advance their field upon completion of their final degree.

“Specifically, I strive to further the research field of nano-scale semiconductor fabrication with a focus on 3D optoelectronic materials,” Teddy said of his future plans. “At its essence, the field of nanoelectronics relies on a combination of chemically driven processes and electrical engineering design principles to fabricate materials necessary in high-performance devices, such as semiconductor lasers, solar cells, telecommunication systems, and computer processors.”

This year, ASF awarded 56 scholarships to students from 41 universities across the country.

To learn more about the scholarship and how to apply, visit provost.utexas.edu/awards/astronaut.