Faculty Members Receive Prestigious Public Voices Fellowship

Faculty members from across UT Austin have been included in the sixth cohort of the Op-Ed Project Public Voices Fellowship.

In partnership with top universities and foundations, The OpEd Project launched the Public Voices Fellowship to increase the range of voices and quality of ideas heard around the world. This offered an avenue for experts from underrepresented groups to be positioned as public thought leaders in their field and contribute to the national dialogue around important issues.

UT Austin remains one of the only public institutions to participate in this program. To date, 99 UT Austin Fellows have produced over 420 concrete successes, including published op-eds, TV and radio appearances, interviews, expert quotes and more.

“Scholarship has long existed across diverse communities but historically the voices of female scholars and scholars of color have been overlooked and ignored,” said Jennifer Keys Adair, associate professor for Curriculum and Instruction in College of Education and Chair of the Op-Ed Project Public Voices Board at UT Austin. “Our hope is that the Public Voices Fellowship helps change that. Our entire community thrives when voices from every group and background are driving the conversations.”

Many of these faculty contributions have led to an impact in the academic and public sphere, driving expert citations, demand for book contracts and sparking community initiatives.

Cockrell School of Engineering

Moriba Jah, Associate Professor

Christine Julien, Professor and Assistant Dean for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

College of Education

Lisa Sigafoos, Assistant Professor of Practice

Nick Winges-Yanez. Director of Disability Studies, adjunct assistant professor

College of Fine Arts

Megan Hildebrandt, Associate Professor of Practice

Sara Simons, Assistant Professor of Instruction, Theatre Education

College of Liberal Arts

Grayson Hunt, Associate Director, LGBTQ Studies/Lecturer

Annika Olson, Assistant Director of Policy Research

Danielle Wright, Associate Director, Institute for Urban Policy Research & Analysis

Jorge Pérez, Professor, Spanish and Portuguese

Sofian Merabet, Associate Professor of Anthropology

Ayelet Haimson Lushkov, Associate Professor

College of Natural Sciences

Shardha Jogee, Rex G. Baker, Jr. and McDonald Observatory Centennial Professor, Department of Astronomy

College of Pharmacy

Rueben Gonzales, Professor of Pharmacology

Janet Walkow, Executive Director/Chief Technology Officer, Drug Dynamics Institute/Clinical Professor

School of Nursing

Alexandra A Garcia, Professor (Nursing and Population Health at Dell Medical School) and Chief of Community Engagement and Health Equity (Dept. of Population Health, Dell Medical School)

Moody College of Communications

Johanna Hartelius, Associate Professor

Caroline Frick, Associate Professor

Dell Medical School

Aliza Norwood, Assistant Professor of Medical Education

Jessica Martinez Ibarra, Assistant Professor of Medical Education

For more information on the program please visit their website at www.theopedproject.org.

Messages from the Provost
Faculty Awards