Faculty Search Committee Workshop

Recruiting top faculty to UT Austin is one of the most important things the university does every year. The provost’s office holds workshops for faculty search committees because we want to ensure that the university is recruiting the best faculty to the Forty Acres across all disciplines.

The workshops provide information to help search committee members understand how to yield a wide and diverse pool of candidates, and how to fairly and equitably evaluate them. Topics covered during the workshop include:

  • Legal dos and don’ts during a search
  • Managing a search committee
  • How to conduct active recruiting
  • Excellence and diversity
  • Implicit biases
  • Best ways to conduct an interview process
  • Closing the deal

Part 1 is the online self-guided faculty search committee course. This part of the workshop will take approximately 60 minutes. Part 1 of the workshop will prepare you for a quiz about inclusive hiring practices and legalities.  You must correctly answer at least 80% of the questions in order to pass this portion of the workshop. Part 1 is a prerequisite for Part 2. Part 2 is the live Zoom workshop that faculty search committees will attend as a group. Your committee chair will help schedule this.

Follow-Up Discussions are 60-minute informal live Zoom meetings hosted once a month throughout the school year for faculty who have taken Parts 1 or 2 of the workshop and would like to discuss anything pertaining to the search process, with topics including support and guidance for best practices and legalities.

For more information about faculty search committee workshops contact Dr. Grayson Hunt, Director of Equity Outreach and Resources

Thu, Aug 18, 2022, 9:00 AM – 11:00 AM
On campus

Fri, Sep 16, 2022, 12:00 PM – 2:00 PM
On campus

Mon, Oct 3, 2022, 11:00 AM – 1:00 PM
On campus

Tue, Oct 4, 2022, 3:00 PM – 5:00 PM
On campus

Tue, Oct 11, 2022, 9:00 AM – 11:00 AM
On campus

Wed, Oct 12, 2022, 10:00 AM – 12:00 PM
On campus

Tue, Oct 18, 2022, 1:30 PM – 3:30 PM
On campus

Thu, Oct 20, 2022, 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM
On campus

Tue, Oct 25, 2022, 10:00 AM – 12:00 PM
On campus

Tue, Nov 1, 2022, 2:30 PM – 4:30 PM
On campus

Thu, Nov 10, 2022, 1:30 PM – 3:30 PM
On campus

Tue, Nov 15, 2022, 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM
On campus

Wed, Nov 30, 2022, 10:00 AM – 12:00 PM
On campus

Tue, Dec 6, 2022, 1:00 PM – 3:00 PM
Virtual

Tue, Jan 24, 2023, 1:00 PM – 3:00 PM
On campus

Wed, Feb 22, 2023, 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM
On campus

Thu, Mar 23, 2023, 1:00 PM – 3:00 PM
On campus

Wed, Apr 12, 2023, 9:00 AM – 11:00 AM
Virtual

Fall 2022 Faculty Search Committee Schedule

Part 1: Online Course

On demand

Register Here

Part 2: Workshop

For a list of available dates and times please view the link below.

Register Here

Follow-Up Discussions

For a list of available dates and times please view the link below.

Register here