COVID-19 Updates
Find regular updates for faculty and students on the following pages.

Faculty Resources Student Resources Instructional Continuity

Director, The University of Texas Press

The University of Texas at Austin seeks a visionary leader to serve as Director of The University of Texas Press (UT Press) as it writes the next bold chapter in its proud history. Reporting to the Executive Vice President and Provost, the Director is responsible for establishing the strategic vision for the organization and leads and manages the day-to-day operations of the Press. Candidates should have a proven track record of success in the industry, possess significant financial acumen, and excel at collaborating with a diverse array of disciplines and stakeholders. The Director will be based in Austin, Texas in close proximity to the UT campus.

UT Press, a book and journal publisher, established in 1950 has published more than 3,000 books since its inception and remains one of the most consequential publishing houses in the global marketplace. UT Press produces approximately 80 new books and 13 journals each year. It is governed by a faculty Advisory Committee, employs approximately 40 staff, and benefits from the input of an Advisory Board.

Over almost seven decades, UT Press has become a publisher of international scope, issuing works in a wide range of fields. Published volumes present the results of original research conducted all across the United States and Latin America and in centers of learning throughout the world. Major areas of concentration include American studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art, classics, film and media studies, food studies and cookbooks, history, Jewish studies, Latin American and pre-Columbian studies, Latinx studies, Middle Eastern studies, music, nature and the environment, photography, and Texas and the Southwest.

Search Committee Members

Don E. Carleton, Ph.D.

Executive Director, Dolph Briscoe Center for American History
Senior Lecturer, Department of History, College of Liberal Arts
J.R. Parten Chair in the Archives of American History

Alexandra K. Wettlaufer, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of French & Italian, College of Liberal Arts
Chair, UT Press Advisory Committee
Hayden W. Head Regents Chair in the Plan II Honors Program
Stuart W. Stedman Director's Chair in Plan II

Charles Ramírez Berg, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication
Joe M. Dealey, Sr. Professorship in Media Studies
Distinguished Teaching Professor

Charlotte Canning, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Theatre and Dance, College of Fine Arts
Frank C. Erwin, Jr. Centennial Professorship in Drama
Past Chair, Faculty Council

Steven D. Hoelscher, Ph.D.

Professor & Chair, Department of American Studies, College of Liberal Arts
Member, UT Press Advisory Committee
Stiles Professorship in American Studies

Donna M. Kornhaber, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts
Member, UT Press Advisory Committee

Michael L. Klein

Chair, UT Press Advisory Board

Larry Singell, Ph.D.

Senior Vice Provost for Resource Management, Office of the Executive Vice President & Provost
Professor, LBJ School of Public Affairs