Council for Racial and Ethnic Equity and Diversity (CREED)


Faculty diversity is critical to fostering a campus environment that reflects the needs and perspectives of our society. To address and improve faculty diversity at UT Austin, a partnership between the Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost and the Division of Diversity and Community Engagement began in 2014. The Faculty Recruitment, Retention, and Mentoring Design Team, composed of faculty and administrators, was formed to discuss the creation, mission, and membership of a formal faculty diversity council.

The purpose of the council is to advance faculty diversity by working to remove barriers, ensure fairness in university policies and practices, and to facilitate an inclusive climate of advancement and growth for all faculty. 

In the spring of 2015, the design team put forth a proposal to the provost, which was approved, to form the Council for Racial and Ethnic Equity and Diversity (CREED).

Current Work

CREED began work in the fall of 2015 to fulfill its mission to advise the provost on best practices in recruiting, retaining, and advancing a racially and ethnically diverse faculty. Upcoming initiatives include working in collaboration with colleges and departments to develop programs to improve the climate and institutional reputation for racial and ethnic equity campus-wide; monitoring progress and sustaining successes through data collection and analysis from UT Austin and peer institutions; and developing actionable policies that academic leaders will implement.

    Resources for Faculty

    Community Resources

    Information about different religious communities in Austin, and how to obtain help with eldercare, adoptions and more.

    Campus Resources

    Here you will find a list of campus-wide formal and informal resources available to support faculty throughout their career at UT Austin.

    2017-18 CREED Membership

    Ofodike Ezekoye, Cockrell School of Engineering
    Sonia Seeman, College of Fine Arts
    Ruth Buskirk, College of Natural Sciences
    Michael Clement, McCombs School of Business
    Rich Reddick, College of Education
    Jamie Barner, College of Pharmacy
    Sam Moore, Jackson School of Geosciences
    Jacqueline Angel, LBJ School of Public Affairs
    Larry Speck, School of Architecture
    Miyong Kim, School of Nursing
    Rowena Fong, Steve Hicks School of Social Work
    Kevin Cokley, College of Liberal Arts
    Diane Bailey, School of Information
    Rene Salazar, Dell Medical School
    Maggie Rivas-Rodriguez, Moody College of Communication
    Jordan Steiker, School of Law

    Ex Officio Members

    Steven Hoelscher, Faculty Council
    Brian Evans, Faculty Council
    Mary Steinhardt, Faculty Ombuds
    Mark J. T. Smith, Graduate School
    Austin Reynolds, Senate of College Councils
    Kareem T. Mostafa, Graduate Student Assembly