Council for Racial and Ethnic Equity and Diversity (CREED)


Faculty diversity is critical to fostering a campus environment that reflects the needs and perspectives of our society, and UT Austin is focused on the recruitment, inclusion, and retention of faculty members from underrepresented groups. To address and improve faculty diversity at UT Austin, a partnership between the Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost and the Division of Diversity and Community Engagement began in 2014. The faculty recruitment, retention, and mentoring design team, composed of faculty members and administrators, was formed to discuss the creation, mission and membership of a formal faculty diversity council.

The purpose of the council is to advance faculty diversity by working to remove barriers, ensure fairness in university policies and practices, and to facilitate an inclusive climate of advancement and growth for all faculty. In the spring of 2015, the design team put forth a proposal to the provost, which was approved, to form the Council for Racial and Ethnic Equity and Diversity (CREED).

Current Work

CREED began work in the fall of 2015 to fulfill its mission to advise the provost on best practices in recruiting, retaining, and advancing faculty members who are racially, ethnically, gender, or in other ways diverse. CREED also works in collaboration with colleges and departments to develop initiatives and programs to improve the campus climate for diverse faculty. CREED along with the vice provost for diversity monitors progress through data collection and analysis from UT Austin and peer institutions. 

For the 2018-19 academic year, CREED focused on the following issues related to Latinx faculty:

  • Faculty Numbers/Compensation
  • Leadership
  • Chairs/Professorships
  • Graduate Students
  • HSI Status
  • Service/Community Engagement
  • Teaching

For the 2019-20 academic year, CREED is focusing on issues related to faculty diversity with regards to:

  • Archiving/Accountability
  • Associate Deans for Equity
  • Equity-based Hiring Practices
  • Mentoring
  • Retention Strategies

    2019-20 CREED Membership

    Executive Coordination

    Edmund T. Gordon, Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost


    Deborah Parra-Medina, College of Liberal Arts
    Rich Reddick, College of Education


    Jacqueline Angel, LBJ School of Public Affairs
    Jakki Bailey, School of Information
    Ruth Buskirk, College of Natural Sciences
    Michael Clement, McCombs School of Business
    Kevin Cokley, College of Liberal Arts
    Raissa Ferron, Cockrell School of Engineering
    Rowena Fong, Steve Hicks School of Social Work
    Miyong Kim, School of Nursing
    Sam Moore, Jackson School of Geosciences
    Rene Salazar, Dell Medical School
    Sonia Seeman, College of Fine Arts
    Larry Speck, School of Architecture
    Jordan Steiker, School of Law
    Skyller Walkes, College of Pharmacy


    Courtney Byrd, Moody College of Communication
    Eddie Chambers, College of Fine Arts
    Caroline Faria, College of Liberal Arts
    Liliana Garces, College of Education
    John Morán González, College of Liberal Arts
    Brad Love, Moody College of Communication
    Leticia Marteleto, College of Liberal Arts
    Loriene Roy, School of Information
    Eric Tang, College of Liberal Arts

    Ex Officio Members

    Tasha Beretvas, Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost
    Marquita Booker, Office for Inclusion and Equity
    Brian Evans, Faculty Council
    Elizabeth Gershoff, Faculty Welfare Committee, Faculty Council
    Kathleen Holloway, Graduate Student Assembly
    Christen Smith, Center for Women’s and Gender Studies
    Mark J. T. Smith, Graduate School
    Mary Steinhardt, Office of the Faculty Ombuds
    Pauline Strong, Committee of Counsel on Academic Freedom and Responsibility, Faculty Council
    Betty Jeanne Taylor, Division of Diversity and Community Engagement
    Nikita Telang, Student Government
    Del Watson, Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost