2023-24 Provost’s Early Career Fellows Announced

Thirty-nine fellows have been selected into the Provost’s Early Career Fellows program. This initiative, which began in 2021, allows early career researchers, postdoctoral fellows, and graduating PhD students to develop and pursue research and teaching topics to help build their future academic career.

“It is an honor to work with this talented and highly energized group of scholars,” said Dr. Lydia Contreras, Vice Provost for Faculty Recruitment and Retention. “We continue to be thankful that the Provost and so many faculty and staff  are committed to supporting this program, which has been highly successful in training and academic preparation but also building community across our campus for early career scholars.”

The cohort for this year includes representatives from 10 colleges, schools, and units across campus from a variety of fields. They will participate in activities to support their growth in terms of research, scholarship, and other creative activities and professional skills to prepare them for academic research and teaching at a research-intensive university.


College of Education

Alejandra Garcia Isaza, Educational Psychology

Sherron Howard, Kinesiology and Health Education


College of Fine Arts

Khristián Méndez Aguirre, Theater and Dance


College of Liberal Arts

Oviya Govindan, Anthropology

Jian Gao, History

Richard Grijalva, Mexican American & Latina/o Studies

Sergio G. Barrera, Mexican American & Latina/o Studies

Cameron Hecht, Psychology

Samantha Lauby, Psychology


College of Natural Sciences

Lauren Biddle, Astronomy

Denisse Paredes, Center for Learning and Memory

Quanbing Mou, Chemistry

Yuan Ma, Chemistry

Yuting Wu, Chemistry

Zhenglin Yang, Chemistry

Muhammad Waqas Ishaq, Chemistry

Yunling Deng, Chemistry

Valerie De Anda, Integrative Biology, Marine Sciences

Guillaume Dury, Integration Biology

Ran Lin, Molecular Biosciences

Souvik Bhattacharyya, Molecular Biosciences

Nayeli Reyes-Nava, Molecular Biosciences

Nihal Salem, Neuroscience

Mercy Sosanya, Nutritional Sciences

Lavender Hackman, Nutritional Sciences


Cockrell School of Engineering

David Alfonso Castilla-Casadiego, Chemical Engineering

Lois Okereke, Computational Engineering and Sciences

Aadil Waseem, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Roman Mykhailyshyn, Mechanical Engineering

Swayamdipta Bhaduri, Mechanical Engineering


Jackson School of Geosciences

Megan Mueller, Geological Sciences


LBJ School of Public Affairs

Michael Poyker, Public Affairs

Ana Oaxaca, Public Affairs


School of Information

John Robert Bautista, Information


Steve Hicks School of Social Work

Maaz Amjad, Social Work

Natasha (Quynh Nhu) La Frinere-Sandoval, Social Work

Ana Chatham, Social Work

Laura Dosanjh, Social Work


Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost

Raj Sankaranarayanan, Strategic Academic Initiatives