University Faculty Gender Equity Council

gender equity meeting

A Campus-wide Approach

In 2014, The University Gender Equity Council (UGEC), a university-wide initiative focused on promoting faculty gender equity, was established to tackle comprehensive efforts across campus. College-level councils were also formed to address challenges specific to those units.


The UGEC is composed of three sub-committees: Climate and Family/Health Issues, Data Analysis, and Employment Issues. The sub-committees admistered a Faculty Climate Survey during April and May of 2015, and analyzed the data. Data will be shared with the individual colleges across campus to address issues specific to each college, and produce a plan to improve equity for each.

gender equity councilMembers of the 2015-2016 University Gender Equity Council

Summaries of Work

Report of the Climate and Family/Health Issues Committee

Following the 2015 University of Texas Climate Survey of instructional faculty, the Climate Committee worked to understand the reasons for statistically significant differences in men’s and women’s responses to particular questions on that survey, especially on these issues:

  • Mentoring
  • Service demands
  • Experience with family-friendly policies
  • Satisfaction with work-life balance
  • UT’s efforts in recruiting students and faculty

In order to collect qualitative data to add to the quantitative analysis of that survey, the committee held five two-hour focus groups throughout the 2015-2016 academic year. Participants were men and women suggested by associate deans and then invited to a focus group. The committee spoke with 35 faculty members who represented 13 of the 16 colleges and schools at the university: five full professors, 16 associate professors, six assistant professors, and eight were non tenure-track. The sessions allowed the committee to discuss and delve more deeply into the source of certain perceived inequities brought to light by the survey. View the committee's report below. 

Use the arrows at the bottom of the presentation to navigate.


Sub-Committee Members

  • Carolyn Brown, College of Pharmacy
  • Janet Dukerich, Office of the Provost
  • Hillary Hart, Cockrell School of Engineering - Chair
  • Martha Hilley, College of Fine Arts
  • Lee Ann Kahlor, Moody College of Communication
  • Victoria Rodriguez, LBJ School of Public Affairs
  • Maggie Rivas-Rodriguez, Moody College of Communication
  • Nichole Wiedemann, School of Architecture

Report of the Committee on Data Analysis

The Data Analysis Committee's analysis focused on findings from the spring 2015 University of Texas Climate Survey of instructional faculty. The committee's report concentrates on the results of that survey for the permanent tenured and tenure-track faculty. For the items replicated from the 2008 UT Climate Survey, the committee compared responses for trends in both genders over time and overall faculty responses over time.

Findings from the 2015 survey were grouped into three major categories:

  • Climate Factors (satisfaction with time adequacy, satisfaction with collaboration opportunity, satisfaction with faculty responsibilities, collaborative decision making and performance, within-unit interpersonal interactions, satisfaction with technical/research support, satisfaction with UT mentoring, and shared vision about research and teaching standards)
  • Workload and Career Progression
  • Family Accommodations Use and Perception

Some of the major findings include:

  • The majority of the climate factors show lower satisfaction among tenure-track women faculty relative to men
  • While women more frequently use family accommodations relative to men, they also perceive more negative career consequences for using family accommodations
  • While men faculty teach more undergraduate sections, women faculty report more committee assisgnments, but also not being able to serve on the committees in which they express an interest

Download the Full Report (PDF)

Sub-Committee Members

  • Philip Bennett, Jackson School of Geosciences
  • Tasha Beretvas, College of Education
  • Sue Cox, Dell Medical School
  • Catherine Cubbin, School of Social Work
  • Jennifer Glass, College of Liberal Arts - Chair
  • Melissa Rodgers, principal data analyst, College of Education
  • Sarah Christman, data analyst, College of Liberal Arts
  • Janet Dukerich, Office of the Provost - ex officio


Report of the Committee on Employment Issues

The Committee on Employment Issues focused on evaluating gender equity in salary and time-in-rank data for tenured and tenure-track faculty. They compiled and analyzed relevant datasets for examining the composition, compensation and promotion issues from 2004-15.

Composition Key Findings 

  • The percentage of tenure and tenure track female professors increased campus-wide from 27.7% to 32.9% from 2004-2015.
  • The number of female full professors relative to male professors has been increasing over time, due largely to more women receiving their Ph.D.'s in recent years.
  • The percentages of female associate  and assistant professors is much higher than full professors, due largely to the representation of women earning advanced degrees has increased and the university has hired more female professors.

Salary Key Findings

  • Several important factors impact salary, including experience, rank and years in rank.
  • In the 2008 Final Report of the Gender Equity Task Force, a difference was found between male and female professors.
  • Since 2004, the gap in salary has decreased from -6.5% to -4.6%. Progress has been made, but more work needs to be done.

Download the Full Report

Use the arrows at the bottom of the presentation to navigate.


Sub-Committee Members

  • Lynn Baker, School of Law
  • Tasha Beretvas, College of Education - Co-chair
  • Jane Champion, School of Nursing
  • Andrea Gore, Faculty Council
  • Marvin Hackert, Graduate Studies
  • Sue Heinzelman, Center for Women & Gender Studies
  • Shelley Payne, College of Natural Sciences
  • Raji Srinivasan, McCombs School of Business
  • Laura Starks, McCombs School of Business - Co-chair



As a result of the 2008 Gender Equity Task Force Report, there was a movement on campus to form a council that would promote an equitable environment for faculty at The University of Texas at Austin. Following this report, a university-wide council was established as well as college-level gender equity councils. The Council for the Status of Women Faculty and the University Gender Equity Council, created in 2013, were combined in 2014 to form the University Faculty Gender Equity Council.