President's Associates Teaching Excellence Awards

About the Awards

Each year, the President’s Associates Teaching Excellence Awards recognize great teaching of undergraduates in the core curriculum. These recipients are UT Austin’s educational innovators whose commitment and performance not only instruct, but inspire. These awards are made possible by contributions from friends of the university who are committed to the quality of our educational programs – a group of people known as the President’s Associates

2016-17 Recipients

Jay Banner, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Geological Sciences
Jackson School of Geosciences

Erika Bsumek, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Department of History
College of Liberal Arts

Evan Carton, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of English
College of Liberal Arts

John Markert, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Physics
College of Natural Sciences

Alison Norman, Ph.D.

Lecturer, Department of Computer Science
College of Natural Sciences

Shelley Payne, Ph.D.

Professor, Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs
Department of Molecular Biosciences, College of Natural Sciences

Ann Repp, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer, Department of Psychology
College of Liberal Arts

Pauline Strong, Ph.D.

Professor, Director of the Humanities Institute
Department of Anthropology, College of Liberal Arts


November 11, 2016

Number of Nominations

College of Liberal Arts: 5
College of Natural Sciences: 5
School of Undergraduate Studies: 3

The nominees should be ranked by the dean of the nominating college.

Nominee Qualifications

The President’s Associates Teaching Excellence Award recognizes excellence in undergraduate education in the core curriculum (including the signature courses). Well-qualified candidates will also have a demonstrated record of engagement with curriculum reform and educational innovation.

Nomination Materials Required

See Teaching Awards Nomination Package

Award Amount

Recipients will each receive an honorarium of $5,000* via payroll.

*Amount of honorarium varies depending on endowment income